September 10 – October 29, 2022
Opening reception: Saturday, September 10, 2022 from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.
Amanda Roy : Azhinoowamaa’idim
Curator: Nico Williams

Galerie Shé:kon
5826, rue St-Hubert, 2ème étage
Tiohtià:ke / Mooniyang / Montréal (QC) H2S 2L7

Text by Nico Williams

In 1906, J.P. Morgan commissioned American photographer Edward Curtis to create a series of portraits documenting the American NDN*. Over half a decade, Curtis set out with his camera, trunks of props, and regalia and traveled to communities, staging many idealized ways of indigenous life. In nearly all these photographs, Amanda Roy noticed that the facial expressions of all the models were made up of only sad glances and frowns.

Curtis’s goal was not just to photograph but also to document as much of Native American traditional life as possible before that way of life disappeared. Amanda Roy knows how it is back home on the Rez and circuiting the Pow Wow trail, and these portraits never truly represented indigenous communities. Amanda Roy challenges these staged romanticized sad NDN glances by superimposing smiles on top of them as an act of resistance, using big auntie and uncle laughter energy to show that we are alive and have a sense of humor. The kind that knocks on the doors and wakes up the whole neighborhood.

*NDN is a shortening of Native Indian. This is usually used by Native Americans in the United States to refer to themselves.

Amanda Roy is Anishinaabe from the community of Buzwah (Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory on Manitoulin Island). She has worked with the National Film Board as an Associate Producer for their Hothouse Animation Apprenticeship program and currently is an Associate Producer for the Quebec-Atlantic English studio. She has worked on various Indigenous productions (film, tv, and digital media projects) that have screened worldwide. She spent several years living in Northern Quebec assisting secondary students with learning video game production while travelling amongst several communities supporting the Cree Syllabics Virtual Reality Project-a program for learning Cree syllabics in an immersive and interactive virtual environment. Amanda is also a Hnatyshyn Foundation Reveal Indigenous Art Award Laureate and a Netflix-BANFF Diversity of Voices Fellow. Her work has exhibited at the Smithsonian Institute, the Berkeley Art Center, and the Royal Alberta Museum, amongst others.

Nico Williams, ᐅᑌᒥᐣ (b. 1989), Anishinaabe and member of Aamjiwnaang First Nation community, is a visual artist currently working in Tiohtià:ke | Mooniyang | Montréal. He has a multidisciplinary, often collaborative practice. Williams is an active member in the urban Indigenous Montreal Arts community. He has taught workshops at The Massachusetts Institute of Technology, NSCAD University, and Carleton University amongst others. His work has been shown internationally and across Canada, and his most recent solo exhibition, Chi-Miigwech (2021) was shown at Never Apart (Tiohtiá:ke). His work has been supported by the Canada Council, Conseil des arts de Montréal, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and by numerous grants.

The Contemporary Native Art Biennial (BACA) thanks the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (Re-Connaître program for native arts) and the gallery Art Mûr.

Du 10 septembre au 29 octobre 2022
Vernissage : Samedi 10 septembre 2022 de 15 h à 17 h.
Amanda Roy : Azhinoowamaa’idim (It is shown)
Commissaire : Nico Williams

Galerie Shé:kon
5826, rue St-Hubert, 2ème étage
Tiohtià:ke / Mooniyang / Montréal (QC) H2S 2L7

Texte de Nico Williams

En 1906, J.P. Morgan a engagé le photographe américain Edward Curtis pour créer une série de portraits documentant le NDN* américain. Pendant plus de cinq ans, Curtis est parti avec son appareil photo, des malles d’accessoires et des regalia, et a voyagé dans les communautés, mettant en scène des modes de vie autochtones fortement idéalisés. Dans presque toutes ces photographies, Amanda Roy a remarqué que les expressions faciales des modèles n’étaient composées que de regards tristes et de froncements de sourcils.

L’objectif de Curtis n’était pas seulement de photographier mais aussi de documenter autant que possible la vie traditionnelle des Autochtones avant que ce mode de vie ne disparaisse. Pour sa part, Amanda Roy connait la réalité sur les réserves et sur le circuit des pow-wow, et ces portraits n’ont jamais vraiment représenté les communautés autochtones. Amanda Roy réajuste ces visages NDN tristes et romantisés en leur apposant des sourires, comme un acte de résistance, en y concentrant l’énergie du rire de la grande tante, ou de l’oncle, pour démontrer combien nous sommes vivants, combien nous avons le sens de l’humour ; ce genre d’humour qui frappe aux portes et réveille tout le quartier.

* NDN est un diminutif de Native Indian. Il est généralement utilisé par les autochtones aux États-Unis pour s’identifier.

Amanda Roy est Anishinaabe de la communauté de Buzwah (territoire non cédé de Wiikwemkoong sur l’île Manitoulin). Productrice associée à l’Office national du film pour leur programme d’apprentissage en animation Hothouse et (actuellement) pour le Quebec-Atlantic English studio. Elle a travaillé sur de nombreuses productions autochtones (films, télévision et médias numériques) qui ont été projetés dans le monde entier. Elle a passé plusieurs années dans le nord du Québec à enseigner la production de jeux vidéo, tout en voyageant dans plusieurs communautés pour soutenir le projet de réalité virtuelle Cree Syllabics, un programme d’apprentissage de la syllabique crie dans un environnement virtuel immersif et interactif. Lauréate du Hnatyshyn Foundation Reveal Indigenous Art Award et boursière Netflix-BANFF Diversity of Voices, son travail a été exposé au Smithsonian Institute, au Berkeley Art Center et au Musée Royal de l’Alberta, entre autres.

Nico Williams, ᐅᑌᒥᐣ (né en 1989), Anishinaabe et membre de la Première Nation Aamjiwnaang, est un artiste visuel qui travaille actuellement à Tiohtià:ke | Mooniyang | Montréal. Il a une pratique multidisciplinaire, souvent collaborative. Williams est un membre actif de la communauté des arts autochtones de Montréal. Il a donné des ateliers au Massachusetts Institute of Technology, à l’Université NSCAD et à l’Université Carleton, entre autres. Son travail a été présenté à l’échelle internationale et partout au Canada, et sa plus récente exposition solo, Chi-Miigwech (2021) a été présentée à Never Apart (Tiohtiá:ke). Son travail a été soutenu par le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts de Montréal, le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et par de nombreuses bourses.

La Biennale d’art contemporain autochtone (BACA) remercie ses partenaires, le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (programme Re-Connaître pour les arts autochtones) et la Galerie Art Mûr.